2nd year hurts me + new vlog!

So we’re now officially halfway through GI block (gastrointestinal, for the uninitiated).  And ouch.  11 hours of testable material in the first 4 days?  Up to 13 hours mandatory stuff on top of that?  Running the med choir?  Trying to come to grips with the fact that this is only the beginning?

For my med folks, this isn’t earth-shattering stuff.  This is a regular week.  So I apologize if I’ve bored you already.

The problem is really the last point.  I really don’t have a problem keeping up right now – what with quizzes on Fridays, there’s not an outrageous amount of work to do over the weekends.  But weekdays SUCK.  MAJORLY.  And I’m going to have to find a better mechanism of coping than chocolate when I get to neuro block (10 weeks of hardcore, people), or I’ll be Big Jessie by the time I write the comprehensive exam.

I feel like this would be an appropriate time to write something philosophical, in a high school sort of way.  “What does being in 2nd year mean to you?”

It mostly means I have another year to figure out how much stuff I don’t know.  Just in case I forgot over the summer.  Medicine is a huge field.  Mammoth.  GARGANTUAN.  And trying to get all the legwork down in 2 years is a bit of a hustle.  Our preceptors and instructors keep telling us that this journey is a marathon.  Pace yourself.  Don’t sprint through it.  Or you’ll run out of steam and burn out early.

Bullshit.  If it’s not a sprint, why do I feel like these 4 years are like cramming for one massive final?  You’re doing your best to remember everything, but there’s just no way you can hold that much information in your brain.  You separate the important stuff from the not-so-important stuff and hope that you sorted them right.  To be honest, what they’re really talking about is post-grad, when you’re tempted to take on as many hours as humanly possible to try and pay off your debts and make as much as you can while you’re still young and energetic.

But the idea still applies.  These 4 years are like the first leg of the race.  But there’s no way you can pace yourself – somebody else is setting the pace, and it’s a doozy.  Of course, it’s a lot of fun.  We really do have fun with what we’re learning. (Case in point: our ever-growing list of medical puns.)  You revel in your strength and feel the rush of the wind on your face and push through the tough bits with some energy drinks and lots of water.  But it’s only fun while you can keep up that breakneck pace.  As soon as the tank hits empty, graduation seems awfully far off.

I should learn to like coffee.  That would help.

But I hate that stuff.  It tastes like ass.  Burned ass.

Anyway.

AND NOW FOR SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT

I’ve got another vlog up!  My family and I hit up Montana and Southern Cali for some good times – bridge-jumping, Disneyland, stargazing… No seriously.  Stargazing.  We ran into Dia Frampton of The Voice, Kristoff St. John of Y&R… plus Darth Vader.  Cool dude.

Clicky here for laff laffs:

 – Atalanta

Leave a comment

Filed under Medicine, Personal & Blogs, Travel

Leave a Reply

