What I’m listening to

So here’s a smashing idea.

Instead of me racking my brain, trying to mould some beautiful analogy of the medical school experience out of the limited wordsmith-skillz I possess, why don’t we just chat?

Just us girls.

(And dudes.)

After all, most days of the week I’m at least partly reliant on the sound pumping through my ear buds to help lift my spirits or calm my scattered thoughts.  Music has become rather important in my day-to-day functioning, especially when I just need to feel something more intense than what my sleep-deprived brain is otherwise capable of.

So what the hell.  Let’s have a look at my (moderately contemptible) top 10 songs to fight burnout:

“Gone, Gone, Gone” – Phillip Phillips

If you haven’t listened to this, your summer hasn’t officially started yet. It’s just such a lovely breath of fresh air with those bold brass accents and earthy acoustic guitar. Even if the sun isn’t shining, by the end of this song I guarantee you will be.

Listen to feel: OMGHAPPYSUNSHINEYAAAYY

“Troublemaker” – Olly Murs ft. Flo Rida

Ignore Flo Rida.  This is all about the ultra-catchy hook and fun dance beat.  And while it’s not a holy-crap-dance-till-you-drop song, it’s perfect for practicing your schmexy moves.  Get those hips gyrating.

Listen to feel:  Awwwwww yissssssssss

“Stutter” – Marianas Trench

Yeah, this is one of those holy-crap-dance-till-you-drop songs.  Right from the kit kicks you’re gonna want to put on your patent leather shoes and twirl your poodle skirt.  Plus the loud, brassy vocals make you wanna sing it at the top of your lungs.  And you totally should.  You have a great voice.  I can tell.

Listen to feel:  Dancey-dance-dance-dancey so fancy, look at my twirrrrrrrrrl

“You Make My Dreams” – Hall & Oates

I seriously don’t care about 500 Days of Summer.  So don’t even.  What matters is that this song is AWESOME and you will dance to it.  Or at least you’ll strut a little bit if you’re walking down the street.  I dare you to not step in time to this monster hit.

Listen to feel:  DREEEEEEAMS COME TrrrUUUUUuuue  (oooooh ooh, you-ooh-OOOoooh)

“121” and “Stand Out” – A Goofy Movie Soundtrack

If these weren’t your pump-up songs as a tween, you didn’t do childhood right.  They’re both incredibly catchy, they feature a Michael Jackson sound-alike, and they’re all about being awesome and loving your awesome friends and family.  Just buy the whole disc.  You know you want to.

Listen to feel:  Nostalgia + I could probably take over the world right now

“Feeling Good” – Michael Bublé

This may be one of the swankiest tunes to ever cross your ears.  Between the heavy swing and the wailing brass you’ll probably find yourself making that “Ooooooooh” face that only comes with the crooners.

Listen to feel:  Damn, I’m so sexy, check out me and my sexy

 “Down the Road” – C2C

I can’t spoil this one.  Just listen.

Listen to feel:  OOOOOOOH SNAP IT’S FUNKY

“Please, Please Stay” – Lucky Uke & Colbie Caillat

Another one of those songs that summer just isn’t complete without.  Whether it’s the adorable ukulele or the lovely blend of their voices, something’s bound to win you over.  Just light and fun and would probably make a completely cute couple’s dance.

Listen to feel:  Awwwww warm fuzzies

“It’s All Right” – Huey Lewis & The News

Hard to pick just one, but this a capella beauty is a perfect tune for long LRT rides.  In fact, I believe I sang this out loud and danced around an empty train at some point.  (And it was awesome.)  There’s no way you won’t be tapping your feet to this.

Listen to feel:  Chillaxed

“Americana” – Supernatural Original Television Soundtrack

Okay, NOPE.  You don’t get to judge me for this one.  Just listen to it, it’s lovely, trust me.  The gentle roll of the line, carried by the clarinets, it just puts me at ease.  And that hauntingly beautiful piano solo, it never fails to give me chills.

Listen to feel:  SPN FEELS.  Or, you know.  Regular, nice feels.

So there.  My taste in music is pretty weird, okay. (Plus I didn’t even include my musical theatre stuff.)

What songs help you out on rough days?  Comment below!

 – Atalanta

4 Comments

Filed under Personal & Blogs

4 responses to “What I’m listening to

  1. Christina

    I cannot tell a lie, I really don’t like that Stutter song. At all. Not even a bit.

    A song that makes my life better and that I think you wouldn’t mock me about (Tom Waits is the greats and you are wrong) is “Neighbourhood #1 (Tunnels)” by Arcade Fire. It’s a bit wintery, actually, but so happy and lovely. But also apocalyptic…

  2. Lindsay C

    Since you asked, my new bestest friend is Nigerian and she has gotten me into all the hip Naija and West African beats. And boy do they make me happy and wanna dance. I mean I can hardly dance, but I think my Azonto is ok.
    Here are a few of the current ones that are stuck in my head:
    Personally: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttdU19Kwce8
    Here is an intro to a bunch of different dances, as well as the video is just so fun

    Gobe: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kFDu6ACKLKo
    Its impossible to not dance to this one, for me at least ;): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dIP2mKO2eSY
    Some amazing Azonto dances:

    And for kicks, here is me and my friend with a poor attempt to Azonto 😛

    eek! I got carried away lol.

Leave a Reply

